Happy Music Friday: Chromatics

Standard
Chromatics

“I drank the water and I felt alright. I took a pill almost every night. In my mind I was waiting for change. While the world just stayed the same.” – Chromatics, “Kill For Love”

If you haven’t heard of Chromatics you are missing out on one of the best electronic bands that Portland has to offer.

I knew their music but wasn’t a rabid fan until I watched Drive. The soundtrack is amazeballs and is totally worth a listen on it’s own. Cliff Martinez built the score based on 80s synth-pop loveliness and I think I’ve listened to it at least three times a day every day since adding to to my Spotify account this past weekend.

I won’t gush on about the band but if you like sultry, floaty, etherial vocals and songs that offer a variety of moods and tempo then you owe it to your ears to find their first full-length album Night Drive. It’s by far my favorite.

Chromatics have also done some pretty solid covers of a couple of my favorite songs by Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen. I never would have thought that their sound would have worked with two staples of the rock-and-roll-guitar world but they managed to pull it off and give the songs a new feeling.

They also covered Kate Bush’s “Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God)”. Several bands have covered the song but this is by far my favorite.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Saturday Pitchfork Playlist « Rusted Revolution

Leave a Reply

