Happy Music Friday: The National

Standard
The National

“It’s odd, very vulnerable, and slightly embarrassing to be standing and singing and playing music in front of a bunch of strangers. None of us are showbiz types, or entertainers or extroverts, so when we’re performing, we close our eyes, think about the songs, and just sink into the music. If we become self-conscious about the fact that we’re standing on stage it’s too weird.” – Matt Berninger

Yep! The time has arrived yet again. Happy Music Friday!

I would say today’s HMF is less on the happy side and more on the side of slight ennui mixed with a little liquor and a depressing French film. Not that I’m in a downer of a mood. I’m just really digging The National lately.

I love Matt Berninger’s deep baritone voice and how he kind of does this mumbly-talky thing rather than actually singing, even though he has a great voice. It’s very deep and melodic and soothing. Kind of like Johnny Cash or Leonard Cohen.

One of my favorite songs. This video makes it all the more epic with the casting (Kristen Schaal, John Slattery, and James Urbaniak).

Bloodbuzz Ohio is one of my favorites. There are a few lines that never leave my head and I literally have them pop in and out of my brain’s airspace frequently: “I was carried to Ohio in a swarm of bees,” and “I still owe money to the money to the money I owe. I never thought about love when I thought about home.”

Some old-school material from The Cherry Tree

Leave a Reply

