Things I Can’t Stop Thinking About Since… (Kim Jong-Il Edition)

Standard
Kim Jong Il

"Where's my congac?" - Kim Jong-Il Illustration of Kim Jong-Il done for Time Magazine, 2006 by Hanock Piven

We lay on the couch, snuggled up with the dog and watching the first season of Louie on Netflix. My husband’s phone lit up on the coffee table with a CNN Breaking News text. He picked it up and said, “Kim Jong-Il is dead.”

I had no real reaction, other than thinking that North Korea probably wishes it were legal to throw a weekend celebration. Then I thought about his successor, and since they like to keep it all in the family, then I’m pretty sure North Korea is super bummed. Like, depressed even.

I, for one, will miss his amazingly over-sized sunglasses and head-to-toe khaki wardrobe. His love of nuclear weapons and propaganda? Ehhh…not so much.

Then, I had these other thoughts go spinning through my head. These are the things I can’t stop thinking about since I heard that Kim Jong-Il was dead:

And for those of you who prefer to remember your deceased world leaders in list form a’la David Letterman, please to enjoy the Top Ten Facts About Kim Jong-Il:

Here’s my favorite – The Fact #4: He once kidnapped a prominent director to film a Godzilla ripoff for him.

“Shin Sang-ok, a South Korean filmmaker, was kidnapped by Kim Jong-Il, sent to prison, and eventually forced to make a film called Pulgasari that was basically a communist propaganda version of Godzilla. After Shin and his wife managed to escape North Korea while location scouting in Austria, Kim Jong-Il shelved Pulgasari and all of Shin’s other work. Kim Jong-Il has since given specific instruction to his Ministry of Culture and his communist filmmakers: “’Make more cartoons.’”

Shin Sang-ok's Pulgasari

Maybe he has been behind all of these horrible and useless Hollywood remakes all along?

Leave a Reply

