Music Videos: Childhood Edition

Video

It’s that time again, kids! The 80s have been stuck in my head lately so I thought I could exorcise those teased-hair-and-stone-washed-denim memories and share some videos of songs that made my tiny little girl heart dance with joy.

Being an artsy kid, I consider A-ha’s groundbreaking video to be my favorite of all time. The black and white sketch-type rotoscoping blew my mind (and a cute Norwegian dude didn’t hurt, either).


I remember this being on the radio, but I haven’t heard it since it came out in 1982. I had no idea they were from Australia!


Way, way, way, way ahead of their time.


“I am human and I need to be loved. Just like everybody else does.”


I remember being totally enchanted by this video. I think I watched way too much MTV when I was a kid.


Cute boys, body paint and phones with cords that magically appear out of the water. What’s not to love!


I didn’t really get into this band until much later, when I found this song on the Donnie Darko soundtrack.


Debbie Harry is my hero. She’s super sexy and super talented (over 30 acting roles to her credit). This is technically from ’79, but whatevs.


Boys in makeup! I had a crush on Adam Ant (and David Bowie and Billy Idol).


…speaking of Bowie. Fun fact: The make-out scene on the beach is an homage to “From Here to Eternity” but MTV censored it due to it’s sexual content (and Bowie’s bare bum).


Favorite part? When Ric Ocasek turned into a fly.

Leave a Reply

